CRAWFORDSVILLE, Ind. – In a formal presentation last weekend at the Torque Converter Rebuilders Association (TCRA) seminar in Greenville, South Carolina, Raybestos Powertrain honored the 2015 Innovation Award winner and runners-up. Each of the three top competitors received a cash prize and a recognition plaque.

Raybestos Powertrain, in conjunction with TCRA, created the Innovation Award in 2014 to encourage innovation and information sharing within the torque converter rebuilding industry. Each year, business owners and technicians enter their own solutions for anonymous evaluation and scoring by TCRA board members in a competition for cash awards. This second year of the Innovation Award proved to be highly competitive, according to Raybestos Powertrain, with only a few points separating the winner and the first runner-up.

This year’s 2015 Innovation Award winners:

  • Winner: Rob Hans of Norfolk Transmission (Norfolk, Nebraska)
  • First Runner-Up: Stuart Miller of Certified Transmission (Mishawaka, Indiana)
  • Second Runner-Up: Frank Kuperman of RevMax Performance (Charlotte, North Carolina)

“This year’s Innovation Award submissions provided creative, productive solutions that could help other torque converter rebuilders improve their own processes and achieve greater success – and that’s what this program is all about,” said Andy Mayfield, vice president of aftermarket sales for Raybestos Powertrain. “These innovators inspire others to develop solutions and share ideas across the industry.”